300 Years of History
   Architecture And More
Architectural experts and historians continue to debate the age of the Sands House.  Thus far, structural and documentary evidence has raised as many questions as answers.   From the unique spiral stair just inside the front door to the hand-hewn beams of upper rooms, the house speaks of its 18th-century roots.  Elsewhere, Greek Revival mantels and gaslight fixtures tell of 19th-century lifestyles.  Changing needs and tastes in the 20th century brought a new front porch, bay window, and rear wing.
A Study House
For years the house has been  open  for study  by archaeologists, architects, preservationists, historians, and students of history from grade school to graduate school and beyond.

Among other things, archaeological exploration on the site  has brought to light prehistoric Indian artifacts, colonial glass and ceramics, sewing items, remains of a flintlock, animal bones, and signs of earlier Indian and English buildings.
Entry Hall Staircase
Entry Hall Staircase
Historians and architectural experts from the Williamsburg Foundation have investigated the house and scoured documents related to its origins.  An expert on dendrochronology, or tree-ring dating, found beams hewn from trees cut in 1681.  Other features suggest that the timbers were recycled from an earlier building.  Such findings raise as many questions as answers, fueling a debate that continues into the present.  The search for answers is yet another chapter in the story that the house has to tell. In May-June 2010 Anne Arundel      County’s Lost Towns Project conducted limited archaeological testing at the Sands House.
Click on the picture to see the report.
1988 Archaeological Excavation
1988 Archaeological Excavation
The Sands House
130 Prince George Street
Annapolis, MD 21401
e-mail: Comments@sandshouse.org
© 2006
Dendrochronology Sample in roof Beam
Attic Beam Sampled by Dendrochronologist
Click for Pictures of the Sands House Through The Years